Dr. Hari will travel for food.

Given my passion and interest for travel and food, I am starting this new edition on ‘Will travel for food’. This new section will feature different people that I meet during my travel who share the same interests on travel, food or both. Hope you enjoy.

IMG_9424 (360x640) (2)

Got a chance to catch up with Dr. Hari Krishnan, a surgeon by profession, but a glutton by choice! He loves experimenting with various foods and snacks and totally loves travelling and exploring new cultures.

Here’s a quick chat with Dr. Hari.

What do you like to do when you are not at work?
I love reclining in a chair and reading a book, with the steady flow of munchies and good, strong tea!

You grew up in India, has the food scene changed much over the years?
Yes, to some extent. The invasion of American fast foods has substantially influenced people’s eating habits leading to change in the food scene.

IMG_9426 (640x426) (2)

Where are your favorite places to go and try new food?
I love experimenting with different types of food places. Some of them include road side dhabas (a roadside food stall called in India) to restaurants to hotels. I also often try out places recommended by friends – especially based on recommendations from those who are die hard foodies like myself!

After living in so many countries like India, UK and Muscat, which country do you think has the best food scenes?
Undoubtedly India! Mera Bharat Mahaan! There is simply no place on earth which offers such a fantastic variety of tasty dishes. Each state across the country offers a great variety of food and also has a distinct taste of their own.

Is there one food you love so much you just order it again and again?
Well more than one, to be honest! I love aalu-gobi, I can live entirely on chana baturas and among sweets the south indian jaangri is my favourite.

Do you like to cook at home, or prefer to eat out?
Let me put it this way. I prefer food cooked at home (especially if the cooking is done by my loving wife) but I have no objection whatsoever to eat out as often as possible!

What is the weirdest thing you’ve eaten?
Once I had some vague kind of stew in a restaurant in a London suburb. I swallowed it because I was ravenous, but I haven’t ever figured out what it was composed of! Mainly some type of clay in sewage water, I think.

IMG_9425 (640x360) (2)

Whaimagest is your food vice? The one you sneak in a little extra when no one is looking.
Additional dollops of tender coconut ice cream.

If you designed your own walking food tour, which country would you do it in? Why and which restaurants/food sellers would be on your list of places to visit?
India, without doubt. I would like to spend a leisurely time tasting different cuisines in the Eat Street in Indore, or try the different paav – baajis in Vile Parle!

Thank you doc and look forward to you sharing many more food and travel experiences on my blog.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

